Pre-Colloquium PhD Workshop


Monday, July 1, 2013, 13:00–20:30, and Tuesday, July 2, 2013, 9:00–23:00

Location: HEC Montréal, CSC, 1st Floor, Blue Section, Banque de développement du Canada


Markus A. Höllerer, University of New South Wales, Australia

Silviya Svejenova, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark

Alexandre B. Bitektine, HEC Montréal, Canada



Florian Becker-Ritterspach (German University in Cairo, Egypt) • Haldor Byrkjeflot (University of Oslo, Norway) • Jeannette Colyvas (Northwestern University, USA) • Douglas Creed (University of Rhode Island, USA) • Heidi Dahles (Griffith University, Australia) • Paul du Gay (Copenhagen Business School, Denmark) • Frank den Hond (Hanken School of Economics, Finland) • Candace Jones (Boston College, USA) • Ann Langley (HEC Montréal, Canada) • Wolfgang Mayrhofer (WU Vienna University of Economics and Business, Austria) • Renate Meyer (WU Vienna University of Economics and Business, Austria) • Elena Raviola (Copenhagen Business School, Denmark) • André Spicer (City University London, UK) • Roy Suddaby (University of Alberta, Canada) • Luis Vives (ESADE Business School, Spain) • David Wilson (Open University, UK)

The pre-Colloquium PhD Workshop provides an enjoyable opportunity for doctoral students to interact with and learn from fellow students and top scholars in our field. It also provides a springboard for successful academic careers by examining important issues such as publishing, reviewing, and collaborative research, among others.

Further, the workshop enables participants to approach their doctoral dissertations with renewed vigor by engaging in discussions on research design and novel methodologies with renowned scholars, and by reviewing their dissertation proposals with the help of others – fellow participants and senior scholars who work in the respective area of interest.

Finally, through the mix of European and international students as well as faculty members, participants gain exposure to similarities and differences across countries and continents in how academic processes work. This also enhances their understanding with regard to different career opportunities and career paths.

Please note that part of the workshop is organized in parallel tracks.


Monday, July 1, 2013
12:00 – 13:00Registration (for the PhD Workshop + EGOS main Colloquium)
13:00 – 13:45

Markus A. Höllerer, Silviya Svejenova and Alexandre B. Bitektine: Introduction

13:45 – 14:00

Silviya Svejenova, Vice-Chair of EGOS: Welcome on behalf of EGOS

14:00 – 15:30

Frank den Hond, incoming Editor-in-Chief of Organization Studies:

Publishing in and Reviewing for Academic Journals – Part I

15:30 – 16:00Coffee break
16:00 – 17:30

Roy Suddaby, Editor of Academy of Management Review:

Publishing in and Reviewing for Academic Journals – Part II

17:30 – 18:30

Ann Langley: Thinking Processually

[together with the Post-Doctoral and Early Career Scholars Workshop]

19:00 – 20:30


[together with the Post-Doctoral and Early Career Scholars Workshop]


Tuesday, July 2, 2013
09:00 – 11:00Candace Jones: Organizational Scholars' Toolkit: A Vocabulary Approach
11:00 – 12:00

Alexandre B. Bitektine, Jeannette Colyvas, Markus Höllerer, Elena Raviola and Luis Vives:

Having a Successful Career: Getting a Job and Getting Started

12:00 – 13:00


13:00 – 17:00

Discussion of Participants’ Dissertation Proposals [in 10 parallel Round Tables; cf. list below this table]

17:0 – 17:30Coffee break
17:30 – 19:00

André Spicer: Inspiring Scholarship
[together with the Post-Doctoral and Early Career Scholars Workshop]

19:30 – 23:00

Dinner & Party

[together with the Post-Doctoral and Early Career Scholars Workshop]



Room: CSC, 1st Floor, Green Section, St-Hubert
Round Table 1
Facilitator: Florian Becker-Ritterspach
Participants: Frederick Ahen, Chacko Kannothra, Nurgül Özbek, David Risi, Michiel Verver, Bilgehan Uzunca

Room: CSC, 1st Floor, Green Section, Van Houtte

Round Table 2
Facilitator: Haldor Byrkjeflot
Participants: Mariline Comeau-Vallée, Miikka Lehtonen, Olga Lelebina, Betina Magalhães Bitencourt, Thomas Nobin, Thomas Schlenzig

Room: CSC, 1st Floor, Green Section, CPA du Québec

Round Table 3
Facilitator: Jeannette Colyvas
Participants: Christof Brandtner, Anne-Marie Duval, Emilio Marti, Hanna Schneider, Steffi Siegert, Marja Turunen, Tao Wang

Room: CSC, 1st Floor, Green Section, Salle Marie-Husny
Round Table 4 Facilitator: Douglas Creed
Participants: Fernando F. Fachin, Janet Johansson, Camille Pradies, Marie-Claude Rabeau, Gallia Singer, Madeline Toubiana, Annemiek van Os, Johanna Winter

Room: CSC, 1st Floor, Green Section, Trudeau Corporation
Round Table 5
Facilitator: Heidi Dahles
Participants: Ignasi Capdevila, Olivier Demers-Payette, Niharika Garud, Isla Milne, Florian Rittiner, Sigme Tuna

Room: CSC, 1st Floor, Blue Section, Béton Grilli
Round Table 6
Facilitator: Paul du Gay
Participants: Stéphane Jaumier, Irina Koprax, Astrid Kramer, Minna Mars Logemann, Sabine Spittler, Rene Wiedner

Room: CSC, 1st Floor, Green Section, Dutailier International
Round Table 7
Facilitator: Wolfgang Mayrhofer
Participants: Barbara Agha-Alikhani, Ricardo Azambuja, Jacob Brogaard-Kay, Sofia John, Lynn Schaefer, Julia Vincent-Ponroy

Room: CSC, 1st Floor, Green Section, Demers Beaulne
Round Table 8
Facilitator: Renate Meyer
Participants: Natalia Aguilar Delgado, Diego Maganhotto Coraiola, Hélène Lambrix, Alessandro Piazza, Hyemi Shin, Eun Young Song

Room: CSC, 1st Floor, Green Section, Cogeco
Round Table 9
Facilitator: Luis Vives
Participants: Fabiola Alvarez, Michael Franklin, Kei Fujiyama, Mikko Laamanen, Alexie Labouze-Nasica

Room: CSC, 1st Floor, Green Section, Rona
Round Table 10
Facilitator: David Wilson
Participants: Johan S.G. Chu, Helen Etchanchu, Carine Farias, José Carlos Marques, Jeroen Wolbers, Freek van Berkel